Dec 07, 2019  
2015-2016 Graduate Catalog 
    
2015-2016 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Bioengineering


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Engineering and Applied Science

Chair: Robin Shandas
Office: Room 6C03 Research 2 - Building P15 (Anschutz Medical Campus)
Telephone: 303-724-5893
Fax: 303-724-5800
E-mail: bioengineering@ucdenver.edu
Website:  engineering.ucdenver.edu/bioengineering

Faculty

 
Core Faculty

Robin Shandas, PhD
Professor
robin.shandas@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Novel methods for translational bioengineering

Richard Benninger, PhD
Assistant Professor
richard.benninger@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Optical microscopy; pancreatic islet biology and biophysics; diabetes

Cathy Bodine, PhD
Associate Professor
cathy.bodine@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Assistive technology, technology, aging, device design

Emily Gibson, PhD
Assistant Professor
emily.gibson@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Microfluidics technology, optical microscopy, and spectroscopy

Kendall Hunter, PhD
Assistant Professor
kendall.hunter@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Development, diagnosis, and progression of pulmonary hypertension

Craig Lanning, MS
Research Instructor
craig.lanning@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Digital manufacturing, reverse engineering, medical device and software design

Daewon Park, PhD
Assistant Professor
daewon.park@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Biomaterials; drug delivery; tissue engineering and regenerative medicine

Richard Weir, PhD
Research Associate Professor
richard.weir@ucdenver.edu
Specialties:  Neural Engineering, biomechatronic design, and rehabilitation engineering

Michael Yeager
Assistant Professor
michael.yeager@ucdenver.edu
Specialties: Cardiopulmonary disease, autoimmunity, in vivo cell lineage tracing & imaging

Affiliated Faculty

Students receive instruction from affiliate faculty in the University of Colorado system, including CU Boulder and the CU School of Medicine.  Faculty research areas include imaging and biophotonics, cardiovascular biomechanics and hemodynamics, orthopedic biomechanics, neuromuscular control and assistive technology, surgery and urological sciences, ophthalmology, neuroscience engineering, polymers and diabetes.  Please consult our website (ucdenver.edu/bioengineering) for more information.

Mission Statement

The Department of Bioengineering bridges the fields of engineering and medicine with a core mission of applying engineering principles and analyses to improving human health. The department will fulfill this mission by providing opportunities for training, research, and service in bioengineering to faculty, students, and residents of Colorado and the greater Rocky Mountain region.

Program Objectives

The Department of Bioengineering offers high quality training in bioengineering that is both flexible and multidisciplinary. A design-based focus permeates every aspect of our training philosophy which can be summarized by the following question: what does the user want and how can I best utilize my bioengineering training to achieve this need? Our academic instruction focuses on developing core competencies in life sciences, quantitative methods, technology, and research methods.

Graduate Program

All graduate students begin the program with intensive study of the bioengineering core.  In consultation with an advisor, each student chooses elective courses, training pathways, and research to fit talents, preparation, and career plans.  Students earn the MS, MS-MBA, MD-MS, MD/PhD, or PhD degree in bioengineering with a choice of training pathways in basic research, clinical applications, or commercialization of medical technologies. Graduate School Rules  apply to all programs.  Please consult our website (ucdenver.edu/bioengineering) for more information on admissions requirements, degree requirements, core courses, training pathways and faculty research areas.

Programs

Courses

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Engineering and Applied Science